So, I don’t know if you all read Selayna’s post yesterday, but she mentioned that she hasn’t been sleeping well. I understand this feeling well (I am a chronic insomniac… my current record is six days without sleep, though 3 day stretches are relatively common), and I know that there are many others who can relate to her. Sleep is necessary for the proper functioning of the human organism (and yes, I’m trying to sound sciencey). When we lack sleep, we don’t and often can’t function the way we should and need to be able to function (although, surprisingly 30+ hours awake is about the perfect time to try reading Nietzsche). I mention this because today I want you to write a story about insomnia. So, you know the rules. Take your subject and run with it. Write me a story of 1000 words or less and stay on topic. As before, if it’s in any way applicable, you should use this to try to develop your world a little more :).

Your Challenge: Write me a story about insomnia. This could be a story that describes a personal experience with insomnia, or a story about the effects of insomnia on those around the insomniac. You could focus on the challenges of insomnia, or you could try to show some of the possible benefits of insomnia. In some way though, your story needs to have a strong focus on insomnia.

Leave a comment