So, we’re slowly adjusting to having a baby. My apologies that my week of posts hasn’t been about anything other than my home life, but at the moment that’s what matters most and everything else is revolving around that. I’ve managed to get back to the gym a couple of times, and I’ve gotten some reading done as well. Alayna is fantastic at taking care of Tobin during the nights without waking me up, and that has been a massive blessing for me. So far this week she’s only needed to wake me up a couple of times when something was going on with Tobin in the middle of the night.

He himself is cute as a button and growing. He’s getting used to home life pretty quickly, and we’ve even started taking him out every now and then (for instance, we’re going to church this morning). However, sometimes he’s not a fan of excursions. However, even then he handles them very well. Yesterday we went to lunch with my parents and Tobin lay quietly in his car seat just staring at me with a look that said, ‘I don’t know where I am, and I don’t like it, but I’ll be okay’ until I took him out and cuddled him for a while.

I’m hoping that by Monday I’ll be able to work reading back into my schedule, and then sometime in the next week or two Chinese will work back in. Overall, Tobin’s birth has been a huge blessing, and I’ve actually been surprised at how much it’s drawn Alayna and I closer together both emotionally and spiritually. The most significant difference, I think, has simply been the shift in perspective for both of us concerning what’s important and what’s worth getting upset about.

I’ve found that it’s also pushed my idea of priorities as well. Things that I was very worried and stressed about before Tobin was born (like some papers that were out to journals) just aren’t that important anymore. It’s not that they don’t matter, but I don’t feel like any part of my worth depends on them, and that is a good thing. I’m also recognizing that, while publication is important for my career, there are things that are much more important than my career, and while I knew that before, I’m not sure that I consistently acted like it was true. Hopefully I’ll do better about that in the future.

Leave a Reply

