donald-trump-phoenix-711-videoWell, I’m not going to say that I’m happy about this, but I have a feeling that Donald Trump is going to be our next president. Let me say that I hope that I’m wrong. However, eight years ago I had a similar feeling right after the straw pole in Iowa that Barack Obama would be our next president. Honestly, I’m not at all sure that America can handle four years of President Trump after eight years of President Obama, but my sense is that is what we are going to be stuck with. In my opinion, a significant part of the problem is that American’s in general, and Christian conservatives are no exception to this, have entirely stopped looking for moral character in their elected officials. In this area, honestly, I think that we have a lot to learn from the Christian tradition (Calvin, Aquinas, and Augustine in particular), from the ancient Aristotelians, from the founding fathers, and from Confucianism. All of the above agree that moral character is the primary criteria of a ruler is moral character. Everything else, including competency, is a secondary concern. This is not to say that competency and other criteria are not concerns, but instead to say that apart from moral character they are worthless precisely because they cannot be trusted. In America we tend to look for personal charisma first, followed by an array of secondary qualities ranging from competency to specific policy stances, but frequently moral character doesn’t even make the list of qualities we look for in our elected officials. What does this have to do with a scene challenge? Check it out below. Oh, and you all should know the rules, but just in case: I provide you with specific rules for how to write a particular scene.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit. If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your Challenge: write me a scene of at least 300 and no more than 1500 words that effectively expresses your take on some current event. Obviously, I would choose the election at the moment, but what you choose is up to you. This is not to be an essay about your position, nor is it to be a character simply presenting your position in monologue. I want your scene to be vivid, dynamic, and meaningful, but also to give the reader a clear sense of your opinion on the event/issue about which you chose to write. Express your opinion through the way you set your scene, the setting that you choose, the situation in which your character’s find themselves, and the way they interact with one another both verbally and, more importantly, non-verbally. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

