Roberts_Rules_1stRight now, I’m not honestly sure how to introduce this post. I’m a little bit exhausted at the moment (that’s what working out and reading for a good chunk of the day will do to you I suppose) and I’m not sure that my brain is quite working the way its supposed to (I did get a ton of studying done though). Alayna and I have been looking for good books on the philosophy and theology of parenting, especially at the level of general approach and fundamental basis. We haven’t had the chance to make any real decisions yet, but we should soon so that we have some time to read them. Anyway, I’ve got a scene challenge for you. If you can’t remember the rules, I’ll provide them: I provide you with specific rules for how to write a particular scene.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your Challenge: I want you to write a proper scene. I don’t mean a scene that is appropriate (as in contextually appropriate to a story), but instead a scene that evokes the overall feeling of high propriety. I want a scene that makes me feel like you’ve spent a lot of time with Robert’s Rules of OrderEmily Post’s Etiquette, or spent a lot of time in very traditional martial arts classes. This is going to be similar to a rewriting challenge, and thus I want you to find something that evokes this kind of feeling (something out of Jane Austin might be appropriate) that can inspire you. However, instead of simply rewriting the scene, I want you to write a scene of your own that evokes the same feeling. Your own voice, your own characters, your own setting. Everything should be your own. This isn’t a simple rewrite for practice. I want you to write a scene that reflects the same mood, evokes the same emotions, and handles plot in a similar way, but that is still completely your own work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

