alone-with-godWaiting is difficult. I feel like I’m waiting on a lot of things right now. I’m waiting to hear back from Ph.D. programs. I’m waiting to hear back about the articles that I submitted (I mentioned that, right?). I’m waiting to be a father. I’m waiting to find out if we need to move. Waiting can cause a lot of anxiety, stress, fear, etc. It can be emotionally and physically draining. Further, often the more important the thing you’re waiting on, the more fear/anxiety/stress/etc. you have concerning it. All of the things that I’m waiting on right now are… important… life-changing important. I like to think that I’m handling it fairly well, but I have to admit that it gets to me sometimes. If find myself looking for distractions rather than living up to responsibilities (or some times as well as living up to responsibilities), having trouble sleeping, turning inward at times when I probably should turn outward. I’ve generally developed fairly healthy stress management habits over the past decade, but I still struggle with some very unhealthy ones (especially over-eating and binging on video-games and bad anime). These are things that I’m trying to avoid at the moment. Anyway, I bring this up because it’s your topic today. I want you to write a story about how waiting is hard. So, you know the rules. Take your subject and run with it. Write me a story of 1000 words or less and stay on topic. As before, if it’s in any way applicable, you should use this to try to develop your world a little more :).

Your Challenge: Write me a story about the hardship of waiting. This could be a story that describes a personal experience, focuses on the emotional trials of waiting, or focuses on the physical outlets that we often pursue. You could focus on the challenge of waiting for something important, or you could try to show how the difficulties of waiting can force us to stretch and grow. In some way though, your story needs to have a strong focus on why waiting is hard.

Leave a Reply

