Well, it’s official. We’re having a healthy baby… something. We found out the gender last week, but I’m sorry to say that I don’t feel like sharing this online. Some of the friends I’ve made around here are pretty big on information security… probably because they all have government security jobs…and I have to admit that they raise some very good points. So, it might not matter, and I’m sure that all of you are devastated (…wink…wink…), but I’m keeping the gender of our child to myself. Anyway, I have a story challenge, and it’s time for my favorite story challenge. I’m going to give you a series of criteria including genre, theme, some character archetypes, etc. Your job is to write a story that includes all of the features required in the challenge. If you intend to post it here, please keep it short. However, the complexity of this challenge often requires a longer story.

Theme: Raising Children

Genre: Fantasy, Surreal Fantasy

Setting: Your setting is a small city in a mixed-race fantasy empire. The city is generally safe, though there is some degree of crime, and is located on a minor trade route that leads out to some important, but distant outposts of the empire.

Character Archetypes:

1) The Adventurer

2) The Wild Child

3) The Cop

4) The Wall-Flower

Items:

1) A Toy

2) A Broken Arrow

3) A Magical Rock

Leave a Reply

