PassionWell, we just got home after visiting my folks, the visit was wonderful, and the drive back was actually a lot of fun. However, I wanted to make sure that I didn’t repeat yesterday and forget to have a post up on time. That’s a surprisingly easy thing to do. I remember when I first started this blog I was rather focused on having a post published at midnight every day, to the point that I alienated a friend who was helping me out early on. It’s easy to be judgmental when you’re passionate about something, and even easier when you’re passionate about something that you’re also good at. There was a time when I never would have forgotten a post, regardless of what was going on, and I expected the same from everyone else who wrote for the blog. However, as time has passed and this blog has become more of a part of life I’ve come to realize that it is significantly unhealthy to be that passionate about something so small. I love the blog, and I love writing for the blog, and I know several of the others feel the same way (perhaps all of them, I say that I know several of them do because I’ve had that conversation with several of them who have told me that they love it, others may or may not, I can’t say for sure either way). However, I am now a professor, applying for Ph.D. programs, a husband, and soon to be a father, and there are many things that take precedence. I think that we’ve put together a pretty great blog, and it seems to be reasonably popular, but when something like a relatively simple blog, your fan-fiction, etc is the sole focus of your passion and drive, I think that it shows something deeply out of balance in your life (or at least it did in my life). So, this is what I want you to write about today: ‘misplaced passion’. You know the rules. Take your subject and run with it. Write me a story of 1000 words or less and stay on topic. As before, if it’s in any way applicable, you should use this to try to develop your world a little more :).

Your Challenge: Write me a story about misplaced passion. This could be a story that seeks to express the intensity of passion that can directed towards something that is really insignificant, or about the damage that such passion can do.. You could focus on describing the reasons that passions might become misplaced, or the long-term life-shaping impact that succumbing to or overcoming such passions can have. In some way though, your story needs to have a strong focus on this concept.

One thought on “Story Challenge of the Week

Leave a Reply

