passions word cloudSo, as anyone who has been reading for any amount of time knows, I teach courses in ethics, world religions/philosophy of religion, and Christian theology at a few online colleges. Every now and then I get a class that is just problematic. Whether it is because the students in the class just can’t follow the material, or because they are arrogant and believe that anything they submit should be given an A, or because they simply don’t submit anything at all, some classes just push my buttons. If I’m honest with myself, one of the reasons that classes like this push my buttons is that I am very passionate both about these subjects (philosophy, theology, and biblical studies specifically) and about teaching in and of itself. I will spend hours talking a student through an issue that they truly don’t understand, whether that be an issue in the subject matter of the course (say Aristotelian virtue theory, Plato’s allegory of the cave, or the authentication and critical analysis of ancient manuscripts), or an issue of general academic scholarship (such as how to craft a meaningful argument, what a thesis statement is, or how to avoid the first person in their writing). You can Alayna about this, sometimes I spend too much time on the phone with students and it cuts into my time with her (though I think I’ve gotten better about this since we started dating–one time early in our relationship I literally left her hanging in the park for a little over an hour while I walked around on the phone explaining to a student what an argument is and how to make one–I really don’t deserve her). I point this out because today I want you to write about passions. So, you know the rules. Take your subject and run with it. Write me a story of 1000 words or less and stay on topic. As before, if it’s in any way applicable, you should use this to try to develop your world a little more :).

Your Challenge: Write me a story about passions. This could be a story that seeks to express what is feels like to be passionate about something, it could be a story about a particular passion that had a meaningful impact in your life, or it could be about how passions can sometimes lead to bad ends. You could focus on the a story that illustrates the importance of having passions, or you could try to show the power that a passion can have over someone, or why it is important to count the cost of your passions. In some way though, your story needs to have a strong focus on passions.

Leave a Reply

