lesmiscoverSo… I am not a math guy. I took a pretest for the GRE this week and scored a 160 in verbal and a 148 in math on a 130-170 scale. The 160 is good, competitive, but not as good as I want. The 148 is abysmal. So, in the next month before I take the actual test I will be doing my best to relearn all of Algebra 1 and 2, Geometry, Fractions, etc. I pretty much remember the math that I’ve had to use in day to day math and grading over the past decade or two. Ideally, I want to bring my verbal score up to a 165 and my math score up the a 159… I think the verbal score is much more likely than the math, but we’ll see… Oh, I’m also taking the Miller Analogies Test this month, working full time, writing a paper for a conference at the beginning of November, and teaching children’s Sunday School at my church. I’m not going to be busy at all… Anyway, I have a plot challenge for you all. Here are the rules for today’s challenge:

Your challenge: Take a movie, book, short story, play (preferably something religious) that you love, and identify each character and significant plot point. Now, identify the three most significant, pivotal events in the story, and work your way back through the plot, but change those three events. For instance, in Romeo and Juliet you might change the death of Tibedo so that he lives. Now, work your way back through the story step by step and figure out how the characters would react to those changed plot points. How would they react (in character)? How does this change the overall events of the story? Feel free to use this as an impetus to write some up a new story entirely, but the goal here is to see how character’s themselves help to shape the plot of a story.

One thought on “Plot Challenge of the Week

  1. Ré the GRE: don’t try to relearn maths, just do practice test questions or exams. Understanding algebra doesn’t help on the test at all (not enough time to really think about anything), quickly identifying the type of problem and applying the standard procedure works wonders. At least it did when I took it, long long ago 😉
    And as a writer you’ll probably ace the verbal. Even there it helps to get used to the different types of questions (so you react quickly to the way they word the different problems), and read their weird word lists…

Leave a Reply

