This is Irena Sendler. If you've never heard of her, you can read about her here.
This is Irena Sendler. If you’ve never heard of her, you can read about her here.

So, first of all, I want to warn everyone that there will be just a bit of language in this post. So, if you have sensitive eyes, go ahead and skip to the end to get your prompt, you probably know the rules. I find that I often begin (or end) my days with the same prayer. It goes something like this: “God, whatever I wind up doing today, please help me to keep it about you. Help me not to fuck it up too badly, and whatever I can do, please make it enough. If it’s not, then please give me the chance to do better sometime soon.” Honestly, I’ve found myself very aware of my limitations and failings lately, and very aware that even at my best, what I have to offer generally isn’t all that much. Alayna, blessing that she is, tells me that I’m being too hard on myself. The thing is, I know myself pretty well, and I’ve gotten reasonably good at telling what comes from me and what comes from God. The fact is that most of what I do that is actually worth doing doesn’t actually come from me. Instead, it is God exercising his strength and power through my own limitations and weaknesses. It’s a humbling experience to realize that most of the good that you do isn’t actually being done by you. It’s also an awesome experience to see just how much God can work through the frail abilities of men to do sometimes amazing things. Anyway, I have a scene challenge for you. So, if you don’t already know the rules: I give you a prompt and you write a scene off of it.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your prompt: “I’m no hero…”

Leave a Reply

