thinking_monkeySo, first of all I have to make a correction. In my Saturday post I said that, in Aristotelian terms, Reformed theologians believe that for any act to be good God must be its formal and final cause. However, this was a mistake, I should have said that God must be its efficient and final cause. Aristotle outlined four causes for any movement: efficient (i.e. the first or original cause of the action), formal (the immediate substantive cause of the action), material (the direct cause of the action), and final (the ultimate cause or goal of the action). So the efficient cause is that which first sets a thing in motion, such as God’s will that I do such and such; the formal cause is the immediate non-material cause of the action, such as my affirmative response to God’s prompting; the material cause is the material capability for the action to be performed, such as my ability to walk, hold things, or step on a gas pedal; and the final cause is the ultimate end of goal of an action, such as my intention to please God and bring him glory. I tend to get them confused because I am not sure that I really understand formal and material causes yet, and while I understand the concept of the efficient cause I often confuse the terminology with that of the formal cause. Anyway, on to your challenge for the day! So, you know the rules. Take your subject and run with it. Write me a story of 1000 words or less and stay on topic. As before, if it’s in any way applicable, you should use this to try to develop your world a little more :).

Your Challenge: Write me a story about confusion. This could be a story that seeks to express the difficult of understanding a difficult academic subject (like Aristotle’s four causes), or it could be a story about frustration over being lost in the woods, or an intentional attempt to confuse someone.. You could focus on the actual experience of an individual’s confusion, or you could try to show how someone becomes confused in the first place, or how confusion and be used as a weapon. In some way though, your story needs to have a strong focus on confusion.

One thought on “Story Challenge of the Week

Leave a Reply

