Hello, everyone! I’m back from Seattle and slowly recovering from my week-long trip (although I’m not entirely sure why I need to “recover” when I was on vacation. I swear, I was exhausted when I got back yesterday afternoon…)

Anyway, for this post I thought I’d share a little bit of hint fiction with you guys. (Selayna wrote a post about this particular form of short short stories a while back, which you guys should definitely check out.) I was introduced to the genre back in my undergrad, when my Creative Writing professor had us write three pieces of hint fiction for a class period. Instead of just having us write flash fiction—which, as Wikipedia will tell you, can actually vary in length from around 100 to even up to 1,000 words—my professor was evil and decided to limit our stories to 25 words or less.

Below is one of my better attempts:


Flowers in Warfare

At first, all I saw was a brilliant field of poppies.

Now my vision is clouded only by a sea of red.

I've always found poppies to be be visually stunning.
I’ve always found poppies to be be visually stunning.

It was definitely challenging for me then, and it would probably be just as hard for me to write a 25-word story now. I’ve always been more of a novel-length writer, so much so that the final project that I turned in for my Creative Writing class was definitely not a 15-page short story (like it was supposed to be), but the first 15 pages of a new novel. Oh well…

So, what do you guys think? Do you feel up to trying your hand at hint fiction? (Selayna’s example of hint fiction is a whole lot better at giving the sense of a bigger story, so you might want to check out her post if you haven’t done so already. 😉 )

Feel free to share your work in the comments section!

Oh, and on a side note: today (July 8th) is also my birthday. I expect virtual cake from everyone, although I suppose I will settle for comments… 😀

One thought on “Hinting at Fiction

  1. I saw this and had to try it. My attempt:

    “Mike didn’t seem like the kind of guy who’d beat me to death with a wrench, so I was pretty pissed off when he did.”

Leave a Reply

