clouds-over-earth-with-rock-silouette-and-spiral-galaxy-chameleon-with-dirt-roadSo, something I’ve had fun with recently is learning to play the game of Go. I’ve found a couple of teachers down here who are good (or at the very least much, much better than I am), and it’s a game that I thoroughly enjoy learning. It’s also an extremely complicated game, which I enjoy all the more. So, I’m hoping to get a few more sessions in while I’m still here, and maybe I’ll be able to find someone else who can teach me after I move. Anyway, on a different subject entirely, I have a story challenge, and it’s time for my favorite story challenge. I’m going to give you a series of criteria including genre, theme, some character archetypes, etc. Your job is to write a story that includes all of the features required in the challenge. If you intend to post it here, please keep it short. However, the complexity of this challenge often requires a longer story.

Theme: Knowing Yourself

Genre: Fantasy, Surreal Fiction, Fiction, or Science Fiction

Setting: You can choose your setting for this. Personally, I think that a surreal fiction genre set inside a mental landscape would be excellent for this.

Character Archetypes:

1) The Pilgrim

2) The Inner Guide

3) The Adversary

4) The Fool

Items:

1) Knowledge

2) The Key of the Soul

3) A Pear

4 thoughts on “Story Challenge of the Week

  1. I have reed and you ask me when sommiting must funny that i on the end are verry depressif and you ask or if it feel so. And yes i feel it so it begon with to write a Grammar and by Challenge on the week yes i feel it so Then you sayd go reed a book or a good movie i choose a book Solo’s Journey there have i 3 parts from written.

    1. Saskia, I’m glad that you’re working on your writing. I think that working from books written in English could certainly help with your grammar. As I said last time, that is definitely the place where you need to work first. Improve your grammar and you will have an easier time improving your English language writing across the board.

Leave a Reply

