lotr-gandalf-balrogWell, I’m in the middle of The Mencius now, and just finished The Hsun-Tzu, which means that by Thursday I’ll only have Bonhoeffer’s Cost of Discipleship and a few articles left to read this semester. I have to admit that I’m happy that its almost done. It’s been awesome, but it’s going to be nice to be living up near Alayna and have less pressure to get everything done NOW! Anyway, it’s time for a scene challenge. If you can’t remember the rules, I’ll provide them: I provide you with specific rules for how to write a particular scene.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your Challenge: I want you to write a reverential. This is going to be a variation of the movie/book scene challenges we’ve done in the past. Choose one of your favorite scenes from a good book or movie that evokes a sense of wonder, awe, and worship. There are parts of Lord of the Rings, The Year of the Warrior, or some of Erikson’s works that do this for me. However, instead of simply rewriting the scene, I want you to write a version of what happens that is entirely your own. Your own voice, your own characters, your own setting. Everything should be your own. This isn’t a simple rewrite for practice. I want you to write a scene that reflects the same mood, evokes the same emotions, and handles plot in the same way, but that is still completely your own work.

Leave a Reply

