I have a test today. It’s actually been a long time since I took a real exam, and Alayna can tell you that I’ve been pretty stressed all week long. She’s actually handled it pretty well all things considered. I… well, I managed to get studying done and I hope that I’m ready. Anyway, I have an exercise for you. This is a setting exercise, and most of you have probably done these before, but just in case: I’m going to give you a set of criteria. Your job is to design a setting based on those criteria.

Your Criteria:

1) Your setting must be a modern day fiction setting. This could potentially be urban fantasy, modernism, and just general fiction.

2) Your setting must include a major library.

3) Your setting must be or be near a major city.

4) Your setting must involve the government of said city in some significant way.

5) Your setting must include one or more foreign ethnic groups (i.e. Chinatown, the Russian Quarter, etc)

Leave a Reply

