I might just have the best fiancee in the world. I say this because she puts up with a lot. On Saturday I went off my rocker about something that, in all honesty, is relatively minor and is unlikely to ever effect either of us. Now, I have to admit first of all that neither of us handled it particularly well in the moment. I know I said things that I now regret, and I’m fairly sure she did as well. That being said, the biggest problems were 1) that I didn’t know what I was talking about, 2) that I didn’t take the time to actually find out what I was talking about, and 3) that I got progressively more emotionally attached to views that had little basis in reality. That being said, Alayna’s response to this today when I apologized was very much in the tune of, ‘it happens, don’t worry about it, I’m just glad you’re seeing things a bit more clearly now.’ So, I just wanted to brag about her for a moment. I honestly don’t deserve the woman God has put in my life. Anyway, you’re here for a story challenge. So, in case you haven’t done this challenge before, I’m going to post a picture. Your job is to write a story about what is happening in said picture. Feel free to flesh it out some, to add things to the picture (you’ll probably have to with this one), but make sure that your story is actually about the picture that I post. For example, if I post a picture of a dart competition in a bar, don’t write a story about slavers selling mermaids. If I post a picture of a sorcerer casting a spell at the top of his tower, don’t write a story about a fist-fighter competing in the ring. So, no that you’ve got a good concept of what your doing, here’s your picture. Remember, if your going to post a story here, keep it under 500 words. If you want to post a longer story on your own blog, feel free to post a link to it here. So… you all know I love monsters, right:

I got this off of comicvine, unfortunately I can't make out the signature. If this picture is yours, please let me know and I will be happy to credit you.
I got this off of comicvine, unfortunately I can’t make out the signature. If this picture is yours, please let me know and I will be happy to credit you.
One thought on “Story Challenge of the Week

  1. I love making stories. Here goes:

    The sailors pointed at the monster “It’s Godzilla!”
    The sailors were in the middle of a bad storm and then this creature appeared. As soon as this creature appeared, all humanity and compassion that each sailor had was lost. The only thing they could think about was surviving. They all looked at each other and then looked at Marvin, the least important person on the crew. He was just a mere deck cleaner, and was always looked down upon. They threw him overboard to appease the evil monster. The evil monster looked at Marvin, and then swallowed him. He was still waiting for more. They all began to argue about who was the least useful person. They kept fighting and fighting and the monster just looked at them and said “Screw it!” He spit out Marvin, grabbed the ship instead and emptied all of the worthless humans into his mouth. Then he put the ship back down. Marvin swam back on deck and looked on as the monster seemed less of a monster than his crew mates seemed. The monster looked back and said to Marvin, “Those guys are going to leave a bad after taste, but I’d rather not have them pollute the environment with their stench.”

Leave a Reply

