So, from the signature this piece is from someone named Yang Liang. I got it off of a random blog that claimed no association to the picture, so I'm not sure where if came from. If it's yours, please let me know and I would love to either credit you, or take it down if that is your preference.
So, from the signature this piece is from someone named Yang Liang. I got it off of a random blog that claimed no association to the picture, so I’m not sure where if came from. If it’s yours, please let me know and I would love to either credit you, or take it down if that is your preference.

So, my afternoon today consisted of preliminary research. What that looks like for me: I found about thirty-nine articles and three books (along with the 10 or so books I already have) on two different subjects that I’m going to be writing on this semester. Fortunately, my subjects are related, so there’s likely to be a fair amount of crossover between the books and articles I’m using. So… now it’s time to start reading them… However, at the moment, it’s time for a plot challenge! Today’s challenge is a pretty basic one. I’m going to give you a very general idea for a setting, and then a few basic character archetypes to work off of. Feel free to alter things as you see fit.

Your Setting: A surreal Dreamscape filled with amazing wonders and nightmare monsters.

Your Archetypes:

The Dreamer: This one should be easy… it the person who’s actually dreaming or in some other way responsible for the landscape. This could be an actual person, a dreaming god, a dead god who’s consciousness hasn’t yet fully passed away, etc, etc, etc.

The Nothing: The essence of emptiness. The void embodied. Feel free to do with it what you will.

The Hopeful Friend: Whether a kindly helper who’s entered the dream, or a manifestation of the dreamer’s psyche, he/she/it is here to help in any way he/she/it can.

Der Wulf: Not necessarily an actual wolf, or even a dream wolf. However, the manifestation of a predator. It may be here as an ally, or you know… as a predator. It depends on whether the dreamer is suitably tasty.

The Hermit: The dreamer’s spiritual guide. Again, this could be a manifestation of his psyche, an actual person who’s entered the dream to help, or some other entity. Whatever its purpose, the Hermit is old and wise, but far from being all-powerful.

Leave a Reply

