This is the second installment of a story I’m currently working on. If you missed the first part, you can read it here. As always, I welcome constructive feedback, and I hope you enjoy reading!

I don’t really know how to explain it. See, I’m not stupid, but I’m not exactly book smart either. Advanced science and all the newest tech just really aren’t my thing, and I could barely even begin to tell you what exactly this thing on my wrist had done to me, or what it was even designed to do. Honestly, I had no idea what it was back when my buddy Vince first snagged it off of one of the science nerds at work. He tried to sell it to me at the bar one night, and I told him he was stupid for taking it at all. Me, I would never steal off the guys we worked for. I may not be a genius, but I’m too smart for that. But I’m also not above taking a good deal when it’s offered to me, and like I said, the watch looked like silver, and you could tell it was pretty high-tech something-or-other too. I paid Vince a hundred bucks for it, and I’m pretty sure it was a steal, because over the next couple days I overheard some of the nerds talking about some real important piece of tech that had mysteriously gone missing. Course, I just smiled and moved on whenever I heard stuff like that. What they don’t know won’t hurt them, right? And I know Vince won’t say anything. No way he’d bring the cops down on himself, and besides, he doesn’t even work at the lab anymore. A couple weeks after he swiped that tech, he got fired for coming to work high. Told you he was a freaking idiot.

But I digress. I had the watch and it had definitely done something, bringing me to wherever this place was. The first time I came here, once I got over the shock and got my bearings a little bit, I definitely wondered just what had happened and how the hell this was even possible. A part of me still wonders, if I’m being honest. My first thought was that it was some kind of teleporter that sent me to a different part of town. But see, I looked it up after I came back, and there’s no Gatz St. or Avenue E anywhere near town. So forget that idea.

I also picked up a newspaper that first time just to try to figure out what was going on. And hell, did that confuse me more than ever. Not only were

Image taken from Flickr Creative Commons
Image taken from Flickr Creative Commons

the sports stats all wrong, but there were some team names that I knew for a fact weren’t real. Who names a pro football team the Rhinos, anyway? But what’s more, according to the paper, Obama wasn’t even President. It was some white guy I never heard of and can’t even remember his name. See, this place looked like home at first, but a lot of stuff was off in really weird ways.

Then I wondered if maybe the watch was putting me in some kind of virtual reality. But that didn’t make any sense either. If that was the case, then what happened to my body while my mind was just sitting there hallucinating all this crap? You’d think somebody would notice the same guy just lying or standing on the street corner for an hour or more. See, like I said, I’m smart, so I think through stuff like this, and I know virtual reality has got to be out of the question here.

I had a hunch, but I couldn’t be sure. So one night I had called up my nephew Brandon.

“Brandon! Happy birthday!”

“Hey, Uncle Rob!” he said. “Um, it’s not my birthday.”

“Whatever. So I’m a little early. Figured I’d call you anyway, just so I don’t forget.”

“Umm…thanks.”

“Yeah, no problem. Hey, listen. Wanted to ask you something.”

“Sure. What?”

“You read a lot of books, right? And go to the movies? You like all that high-tech sci-fi space stuff?”

“Yeah, I like it a lot. Why?”

“I’m trying to figure out what’s going on…in this show I’m watching,” I told him. “It’s like, this guy got transported to a different place. Well, it looks a lot the same, but it’s different somehow, and a bunch of stuff about the whole world has changed. That make any sense to you?”

“You mean like another dimension?” Brandon asked.

“Is that what they call it?” I asked. “Yeah, sure, like that. Um…what exactly is that?”

Brandon apparently knew what he was talking about. “Well, the theory is that there’s an infinite number of parallel dimensions, or alternate timelines, with an infinite number of possibilities. They might seem kind of like ours, but they’ve changed in different ways at some point in time. Any number of things could have happened differently in this world. It’s like when they went to the mirror universe on the old Star Trek and they had to fight evil versions of themselves. Although, in the new movies, the whole thing is really a different timeline because—”

Image taken from Flickr Creative Commons
Image taken from Flickr Creative Commons

“Yeah, yeah, I think I got it,” I told Brandon. “Thanks, kid.”

“Sure. What’s that show you’re watching? It sounds interesting.”

“Uh, I forget the name of it. But I’ll definitely let you know. Just don’t worry about it for now, okay? How’s school?”

So that was it, I guess. The watch wasn’t taking me anywhere else in my town, or even on my planet or in my universe, for that matter. So far as I could tell, whenever I pressed that button, I opened my eyes in a whole different dimension where things weren’t quite the same as I knew them. Except nobody here was fighting evil versions of themselves like in all those stupid overpriced action flicks. They were just trying to get by and live their lives, just like regular folks in my own world too. So coming here was perfectly safe and could still be a nice way to relax. But just the fact that I really was in some kind of alternate timeline made it a brand new adventure at the same time, and also quite a unique change of pace from whenever I got tired of how things were back home.

I got to Miniver’s and stepped inside. The room was dimly lit and a band was playing in the background. I walked around and began to look for a place to sit and kick back for a bit.

And that’s when I saw her.

To be continued…

Click here for part 3!

2 thoughts on “Parallel, part 2

Leave a Reply

