So, tomorrow (hopefully) should be our first post on gender relations… …if my girlfriend and I can get on the same page long enough to hash out a blog post anyway :P. We’re making some progress at least… …well, when she isn’t laughing hysterically at random bible verses that aren’t even remotely funny! Admittedly, she’s had a very long day, but as I write this she is more than a little bit loopy. She just laughed her way through John 5 (actually had to stop reading a few times), and it’s just not a chapter that I find particularly funny. What can I say, I’ve got myself a special lady. It’s actually kind of fun to watch her try to read and laugh her head off at the same time, and then she tried to convince me that we’d already prayed together… …we hadn’t. Not even remotely. Yeah, she’s exhausted. So, you know the drill here: I’m going to give you a question, and you’re going to write me a one thousand word story that answers that question and defends your answer.

So, here’s your question today: What does it mean to have authority? Is authority absolute? Does it mean that you can demand whatever you want? Is all authority limited? Is some authority limited? If so, what are the limits of that authority?

One thought on “Philosophy Challenge of the Week

  1. Reblogged this on britestarlites3's Blog and commented:
    Since authority comes in all shapes, sizes and degrees (political, religious, psycological, familial, socio-cultural, economic,geographical, etc. And totalitarian, pious, patriarchial or matriarchial, class and caste, and ownership of assets-both liquid and fixed), it stands to reason that we view it contextually.
    Without parameters, and defined variables it’s a chaotic discussion at best and an ambiguous debate at worst.
    I figure our own interactions in relation to authority are filled with our own set of experiences with it, which in turn, undoubtedly color our own trysts with it.
    What influences our own adaptations and interpretations when we feel confident enough to wield authority ourselves is what makes interesting fodder for thought, not only if we seek to examine ourselves and our reasons for acting or reacting as we do, but, also for those who wish to study or observe our triggers and motives, our incentives and motivations: the whys and wherefores of why we do what we do.
    For instance, in my personal spaces I can opt for a panoramic view which spans my interactions with all kinds of authority right from my family of orientation which I was born into to my family of procreation. Despite reading about it, where we’re told that we may be bound to repeat the errors of our ancestors, we never truly buy into it until… we hear our parents voices emanating from us when we talk to our kids. Talk about emulation: boon or bane? 🙂

Leave a Reply

