It never ends. I’m finished with all my work for this semester, and now I’ve started into Summa of the Summa, Peter Kreeft’s summary of Thomas Aquinas’ Summa Theologica along with Jean Porter’s Natural and Divine Law. I’ll admit that the Summa is kicking my tail. For anyone left who still thinks that the high middle ages were a time of ignorance and superstition, try reading some twelfth century metaphysics (Thomas Aquinas, Bonaventure, Peter Abelard, etc). You might disagree with their conclusions, but if you read some of these people, you can’t doubt their brilliance. Anyway, I have a plot challenge for you today. I’m going to give you a picture and I want you to develop a part of your world based on what you see. It should be a setting that is believable in your world, and that has potential for stories in it. Here’s you’re picture:

This is an awesome peace that I pulled off of coolvibe. If anyone know's who did this piece, I'd love to give credit.
This is an awesome peace that I pulled off of coolvibe. This piece was done by Palomeque in 2011 (thanks to britestarlites3 for making it out for me), if we’re reading the signature correctly. If that’s you, please let me know. I’d love to link to your website, or if you’d rather I take the image down, I can do so.
3 thoughts on “Plot Challenge of the Week

  1. Reblogged this on britestarlites3's Blog and commented:
    There’s something about this picture… the scene flashes before my mind’s eye and I sense the déja vu coming on. I’ve been having strange dreams all week. Now, I’m convinced that they’re much more than that: flashbacks perhaps. The dissonance is stark.
    I shudder. It all seems so familiar and yet it’s as if I’m getting plunged into the murky unknown.
    My worlds are colliding. The fine line between my perceived reality and my dream dimensions shimmers in and out of existence.
    And then, it’s settled, as if the universe has suddenly made up its mind. I instinctively know the call has been made, taking the decision and along with it any semblance of an option or choice right out of my hands. I’m afraid of what I will discover. Scared to open my eyes. For I’m beyond positive, that sight will only reiterate what I know in my bones: I’m no longer where I used to be. I don’t know what makes me so sure.
    I figure I should take a peek, I can’t sit pretty and pretend change doesn’t exist forever, can I?
    I open my eyes a crack, and catch my breath. I couldn’t possibly be perched any higher up. The view that spans out and unfolds before me can only be defined aa panoramic. Where am I?
    I blink. My eyes popping open. I’m amazed at my vision. It’s gotten telescopic! I can see a bumblebee hovering over tiny wildflowers a few hundred feet below.
    One minute I was in my little studio apartment, the next I find my self on the tallest turret of a high castle tower overlooking a mountainside.
    My memory flashed: remembering my fear of heights, instincts took over as I tried to cling to my perch, only to find I had wings.

Leave a Reply

