I might have felt like this at times... ...
I might have felt like this at times… … I might also have looked like this at times…

Day 110 of my incarceration. Four more days until I am released. I have made many plans for how I will take my revenge upon those who cast me upon these shores, but now I begin to realize that my time here has made much of me. Perhaps I should even thank my captors, though I will of course still kill them all… Okay, it really hasn’t been that bad, or even ‘bad’ at all. However, four days until my semester ends… except for a final that I’m not actually particularly worried about. It’s been a massive amount of work (as anyone who looked through my reading list yesterday will have noted), but it had also been very good for me, and I’m expecting As when I get my grades back… I suppose I could be in for a surprise, but I don’t think that’s likely. I set out, in part, to prove that I could do good academic work at a fairly rigorous school at a high level, and I think I’ve proven that to myself and my professors this semester. However, there’s always next semester to go. Anyway, today is the day for a story challenge, and it’s time for my favorite story challenge. I’m going to give you a series of criteria including genre, theme, some character archtypes, etc. Your job is to write a story that includes all of the features required in the challenge. If you intend to post it here, please keep it short. However, the complexity of this challenge often requires a longer story.

Theme: Freedom and/or Revenge

Genre: Modern Fiction, Fantasy, Historical Fiction

Setting: A prison of some kind. This could be an actual maximum security prison, a twisted magical landscape that imprisons the soul, or a gilded birdcage that ‘imprisons’ some noble personage.

Character Archetypes:

1) The Prisoner

2) A Wise Mentor/Advisor

3) A World Weary Guard

4) A Religious Guru

Items:

1) A Candle

2) The Prison’s ‘key’

3) The Spectre of Death

Leave a Reply

