I have to admit... I have no idea what this means. Someday I will though.
I have to admit… I have no idea what this means. Someday I will though.

Well, I just finished my Chinese for today! As of today I can write recognize and ‘translate’ about 20 characters of the 4000 some that I’ll need to know… … Yeah, long way to go. However, I ‘translated’ my first proverb today. I’m not actually sure if I got it correct as the book I’m using unfortunately doesn’t provide correct translations. However, I am sure that I got it somewhere within the vague realm of correct (pretty sure… it sounded suitably Chinese at least :P). I’ve also found that I thoroughly love Carl F.H. Henry’s Christian Personal Ethics… though I don’t love the fact that it’s 600 page with small print and wide margins. However, the content is awesome. I think, along with Bryan Van Norden’s Virtue Ethics and Consequentialism in Early Chinese Philosophy, this is my favorite book of a semester of interesting reading. Anyway, I have a scene challenge for you. So, if you don’t already know the rules: I give you a prompt and you write a scene off of it.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your prompt: “Okay, I think I’m starting to get this. How do I say that one?…”

Leave a Reply

