deadlineSo obviously, today’s post is a few hours late…this week’s been insanely busy for me, and it completely slipped my mind. Tobias reminded me yesterday afternoon, and I meant to write something, and then I started grading essays ,and writing my post completely slipped my mind until, well, just now (sorry, Tobias!). It’s rather frustrating for me, because as a Type A, obsessive compulsive person, I REALLY like to stay on top of things, especially deadlines, and I get really freaked out and stressed when I miss something. This is why I don’t participate in NaNoWriMo – if I miss a day, I’m sunk, and I can’t handle that kind of pressure, especially during the school year. What I’ve been learning recently, though, is that it’s (usually) ok, particularly in regards to my writing. Academic writing deadlines I still get freaked out about because I kind of don’t want to fail my classes (never missed a deadline there yet, so I’m aight :D), but my other forms of writing will still be waiting for me if I miss them. I missed the submission date for a poetry contest because I wasn’t done with the poem yet, but it was fine. If you rush a Miracle Man, you get rotten miracles; if you rush creative writing, you get rotten poetry/short stories. I finished the poem anyway (a week late), and I actually really like it. If I’d cobbled it together in a hurry to meet my original deadline, I would have had an awful poem that I would have hated and probably never looked at again. I guess the point of all of this is…don’t freak out, especially you NaNoWriMo people, if you miss the original time by which you wanted to finish something. It will get done πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Deadlines? What are Those?

  1. I find when you’ve not got a deadline, it’s easier to write – but, then you procrastinate. But, then when you’ve got a deadline, your more sure to get the work done, but your pressured, and it feels less good. Good tips though! X πŸ™‚

  2. Not only will you get it done, but then it is there for the next poetry contest! Being proactive can help this, but recognizing when your procrastination has allowed you to be proactive for the next one is relaxing, until the deadline after that.

Leave a Reply

