Well, it is an object of fear and loathing... and if you don't know, The Necronomicon is a creation of H.P. Lovecraft that he mentioned in a few of his short stories. It is not an actual occult text (though there are now several versions of the book floating around all based off of Lovecraft's description).
Well, it is an object of fear and loathing… and if you don’t know, The Necronomicon is a creation of H.P. Lovecraft that he mentioned in a few of his short stories. It is not an actual occult text (though there are now several versions of the book floating around all based off of Lovecraft’s description).

Well, I finished three books last week and started into two more. One of them in Cornelius Van Til’s Christian Theistic Ethics. The other in a book of articles on Confucianism and Human Rights edited by Kwong-Loi Shun and David Wong… I don’t actually remember the title… it’s rather long. I have to say that I just read an article in it by Henry Rosemont Jr. that I absolutely loved though! It was very good. I’m also submitting my first major paper for a Ph.D. seminar… next Monday I get it back, ripped to shreds by my professor and all my classmates. I’m excited about that… and a little bit scared, but mostly excited. Anyway, today is the day for a story challenge, and it’s time for my favorite story challenge. I’m going to give you a series of criteria including genre, theme, some character archtypes, etc. Your job is to write a story that includes all of the features required in the challenge. If you intend to post it here, please keep it short. However, the complexity of this challenge often requires a longer story.

Theme: Hope as The Phoenix

Genre: Surreal Fiction, Modern Fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Setting: I’m going to suggest a small community of some kind. However, this could be a fantasy/historical village, a space ship, a neighborhood in a major metropolis, etc, etc

Character Archetypes:

1) A Discouraged Man/Woman

2) A Spiritual Counselor

3) A Close Friend or Love Interest

4) Despair (as a personified idea, an actual person who drives one to despair, a feeling that becomes a character in its own right, etc, etc, etc)

Items:

1) A desk

2) A spiritual book

3) An object of fear and loathing

Leave a Reply

