Well, I got to spend most of this afternoon with my nephews, which is always a thoroughly wonderful time. I don’t get to see them very often, and I had both of them sitting in my lap for a while while I read stories. That, I must admit, was immensely fun. Unfortunately, I haven’t gotten much in the way of reading done this week, though tomorrow I’m hoping to get a paper started. Anyway, I have a scene challenge for you. So, if you don’t already know the rules: I give you a prompt and you write a scene off of it.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your prompt: “Eh, it’s so-so’ said Ephraim…”

I intentionally left this one vague. You could easily set this in the modern world, but Ephraim would also fit any number of speculative worlds. So, I hope you have fun with it. I’m not include it picture because I want to keep it as open as possible.

Leave a Reply

