The-Tales-of-Bauchelain-and-Korbal-Broach-Vol-1-Erikson-Steven-9780593063941So, for any students out there who think that summarizing and critiquing 20 page journal articles in a couple of pages is just dreadfully impossible, my first assignment is to summarize and critically analyze 518 pages of reading across two different authors in 3-5 pages. Just thought I’d share the experience with you :). Anyway, I’ve been doing a ton of reading, and I have a ton left to do, so I’m not going to be long here. Anyway, it’s time for your plot challenge. So, here are the rules for today’s challenge:

Your challenge: Take a movie, book, short story, play (preferably something religious) that you love, and identify each character and significant plot point. Now, identify the three most significant, pivotal events in the story, and work your way back through the plot, but change those three events. For instance, in Romeo and Juliet you might change the death of Tibedo so that he lives. Now, work your way back through the story step by step and figure out how the characters would react to those changed plot points. How would they react (in character)? How does this change the overall events of the story? Feel free to use this as an impetus to write some up a new story entirely, but the goal here is to see how character’s themselves help to shape the plot of a story.

                                 **************************************************************

For those of you who missed yesterday’s post, Neal is official leaving the blog. So, first I want to say a hearty goodbye and thanks for all the fish to Neal. If you know what I mean, then you know what I mean. Neal’s been writing on this blog for a while now, and he’s going to be missed.

I believe that, as individuals, as friends, and as writers, each person who has contributed to this blog is irreplacable, and each is special to me in some way. That being said, having lost both Abbie and Neal to the vagaries of school and life, I find myself in need of writers to fill those positions. So, I am looking for two good writers who are capable of being, and wish to be, regular contributors to the blog. One would be posting on Thursdays only and would be alternating with me, and the other would be a floating author posting less regularly on Thursdays, Tuesdays, and possibly Sundays. I’m also looking for a philosophically minded individual to help me with the Saturday Challenges. If you are interested in any of these duties, please email me at tmastgrave@gmail.com with a brief introduction, bio, and writing sample. If you have any previous blogging experience that would also be good to mention 🙂.

Leave a Reply

