intelligent-books-to-readMoving is stressful. Unfortunately, I tend to be the frog in the pot. I don’t realize how much stress I’m under until I’m about ready to pop. However, I’m fairly good at finding ways to manage my stress as well, even when I don’t really realize that I need to. All that to say that I’m sitting in a room with about 50 boxes covering the floor (mostly books amazingly enough) as I’m writing this week’s challenge posts, and it’s kind of stressing me out. So, I have a scene challenge for you. So, if you don’t already know the rules: I give you a prompt and you write a scene off of it.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your prompt: “Simon’s gaze slid over the book’s cover without really registering it…”

3 thoughts on “Story Challenge of the Week

  1. Simon’s gaze slid over the book’s cover without really registering it. He couldn’t focus on that or any of his other research, not with all the noise coming from the kitchen. Why did his roommate have to bring home a drunken monkey in a tutu? Sure it was funny at first, but the joke was getting old fast.

Leave a Reply

