Sometimes you just know that a person is special. Not the ‘important to me’ kind of special, but the ‘wait… what did you just say?’ kind of special. I have generally found that this kind of special person is both incredibly hilarious and often quite annoying. While I give little credence to the hot/crazy scale (see How I Met Your Mother) and have little time for people who actually think that way, I do believe that there is a valid entertainment/annoyance scale for special people. When an individual’s specialness entertains me more than it annoys me, then I have a fairly easy time dealing with that person. When that same individual’s specialness becomes more annoying than entertaining then I start wanting to break out the frying pans. Anyway, today is the day for a story challenge, and it’s time for my favorite story challenge. I’m going to give you a series of criteria including genre, theme, some character archtypes, etc. Your job is to write a story that includes all of the features required in the challenge. If you intend to post it here, please keep it short. However, the complexity of this challenge often requires a longer story.

Theme: Special People

Genre: Satire, Comedy, or Mystery

Setting: A relatively small room (consider that Sartre wrote a rather brilliant play about hell set entirely in one room)

Character Archetypes:

1) A snotty teenager (feel free to interpret that however you want)

2) A wise priest

3) An old lady

4) A pregnant woman

Items:

1) An ancient text

2) A grandfather clock

3) A bill (like an electric bill, tax bill, etc… not a duck’s bill)

Leave a Reply

