This is an excellent piece and I'm sure it belongs to someone. However, I got it from a random blog. So, if this piece is yours and you would like credit for it, please contact me so that I can give a proper credit.
This is an excellent piece and I’m sure it belongs to someone. However, I got it from a random blog. So, if this piece is yours and you would like credit for it, please contact me so that I can give a proper credit.

Well, Neal is out of town this week, and I’m filling in for him. So, lately I’ve been talking with a friend about the philosophy and ethics of violence. Whether violence can be good or bad, whether the death penalty is the right of the state or is solely in the hands of God, etc. So, you all know the way this works: I give you a philosophical question and you write a story of under a thousand words that answers the question and provides a defense for your position. Your question today is simple: is it right to make criminals suffer without offering redemption? If so, is death penalty a mercy that allows the prisoner to avoid the suffering of a lifetime of imprisonment?

Have fun with this one guys!

One thought on “Philosophical Challenge of the Week

Leave a Reply

