I'm not sure who did this, but it's awesome and I love it. I found it here. If it's yours, please let me know so that I can credit you properly.
I’m not sure who did this, but it’s awesome and I love it. I found it here. If it’s yours, please let me know so that I can credit you properly.

I am mildly obsessed with monkeys. You can ask anyone who knows me well. It’s not that I like monkeys. I actually think they’re rather evil little monsters… sometimes… other times I love them, but for some reason, they are almost always on my mind. I blame a college roommate. Anyway, it’s time for a writing exercise and I want you to work monkeys into it. This week’s challenge is in character building, so I hope you’re ready to do some thinking. You know the rules: I give you a few simply criteria and you build a character based on those criteria.

Your Criteria:

1) Your character must be a simian of some kind. She could actually be a monkey (perhaps a super-intelligent space monkey), or she could be some kind of monkey deity (such as Hanuman or Sun Wukong), or anything in between.

2) Your character must not be morally gray. I don’t care if the character is good or evil, but she must clearly be one of the two, not somewhere in between.

3) Your character must have a companion. This could be a fellow simian, a servant of some kind, a high-priest or major-domo, but her companion must be clearly important to the character (perhaps even necessary) for some reason.

4) Your character must have a clear, world changing goal. For instance, Sun Wukong invaded heaven with a stick to steal a magic peach (…well, heavenly fruit…)… no seriously… it’s a funny story. Gorilla Grodd (though not technically a monkey) tried to conquer the world repeatedly with his mind control. So, give your character some kind of serious, difficult goal.

Leave a Reply

