sky_city_sci_fi_fantasy_by_sergey_musin-1400x1050Welcome to Thanksgiving week! A friend of mine pointed out that one of the great inconsistencies in American life is that we take one day out of the year to be thankful for all of the things that we spend the rest of the year complaining about. I like to say that I’m not much of a complainer, but I’m also a consummate liar, so that’s not really a statement anyone should put much stock in. That being said, I’ve been making a real effort this year to be more grateful in general, to complain less, say thank you more, amdd appreciate what I have in life. I haven’t been consistently successful, but it’s a work in progress. So, with that being said, this week’s challenge is a plain old theme challenge. You’ve had them before, you’ll have them again, and even if you’re brand new they’re easy to figure out. I give you a theme, and you write me a story around that theme, but this week there’s a little bit of philosophy in your theme challenge. The story has to actually be about the theme, but it also has to explain the theme (you’ll see what I mean). If your theme is war, don’t write me a story about a poor maiden who’s love has gone off to war.

Your theme: What is real thankfulness?

It’s generally not hard to be thankful when someone is nice to you. It’s harder to be thankful when you have to look for things to appreciate. It’s even harder to be thankful for things that you don’t appreciate. One of the questions that was asked of me at church last night was: what is one thing you’re thankful for that you never thought you could be thankful for? I have an answer to this question. I’m not going to share it with you. However, it is often a difficult question to answer, and I have to wonder if being thankful for something that isn’t easy to be thankful for isn’t more real than other forms of thankfulness. Just a thought.

2 thoughts on “Story Challenge of the Week

  1. That’s an interesting point of view. I too have a thing to be thankful for that, at least on the surface, doesn’t seem like something to be thankful for. It’s strange how life works sometimes.

Leave a Reply

