Insert your name and what-not here. You deserve it.
Insert your name and what-not here. You deserve it.

Yesterday we passed the 500 followers mark… I’m really hoping that no-one drops the blog before this is posted. I’ve mentioned several times that I would like to make money off of this blog someday, but honestly, that’s something that I’ve stopped caring about. Running the blog for the past couple of years has been a very rewarding experience for me, and I hope that following it has been a rewarding experience for all of you. Today is my day to say something deep and meaningful about writing, and I want to do that through all of you. The reason we write books, stories, blogs, etc is to be heard. If we didn’t want to be heard then we’d be writing journals and diaries that we keep locked up and safely hidden, or we just wouldn’t be writing at all.

We don’t write in a vacuum. Our writing is influenced both by who we read and by who we hope to influence, and this is important. I’ve said more than once that what we write can’t be dictated by our audience. We can’t truly predict who will read our writing, who will enjoy our writing, or who will be influenced by our writing. However, what we write must be affected by our intended audience simply for the fact that it exists. That being said, I want to thank all of you for being an incredible audience.

We’ve received several awards on this blog (honestly, I haven’t actually kept track of them, so I don’t remember what all we’ve received. I know the Liebster is one of them). However, today I want to give an award. I’m not much of a graphic designer (honestly, I’m not much of a designer period), and I don’t actually know most of you, so the award is fairly generic, but you, our audience, are a huge part of why this blog exists in the first place, and why we’re still here after two years. I haven’t been perfect about responding to challenge completions (though I do try), and certainly we have hiccups sometimes, but thank you for sticking with us.

This picture of a trophy is gleefully presented to Selanya, Paul, Cassandra, Neal, Canaan, and Abbie for their contributions to this blog. Look at it in good health. I'm afraid its not good for much else.
This picture of a trophy is gleefully presented to Selanya, Paul, Cassandra, Neal, Canaan, and Abbie for their contributions to this blog. Look at it in good health. I’m afraid its not good for much else.

I also want to present an award to my fellow writers. No rules, no restrictions, no requirements: you all work hard and you deserve recognition. Without you, I would have given up and quit a long time ago. Thank you for all you do. The audience we have wouldn’t exist without you.

So, my meaningful post about writing: appreciate the people around you. The ones who depend on you and the ones that you depend upon. Acknowledge them. Treat them well. Tell them what you think of them. And most of all, be there for them whenever you have the opportunity. Do this in your writing as well as in your life. Ultimately, it’s people that matter.

3 thoughts on “500 Followers

Leave a Reply

