hesedI think love is very important in life. I’m not talking about romantic love here, or at least not just about romantic love. I’m talking about loving others in general. Anyone who knows me particularly well can tell you that I’m not a fan of C.S. Lewis. Most of my friends have heard my rants about The Chronicles of Narnia or Lewis’ glaring theological inaccuracies, (which, to his credit, he freely admitted – Lewis did not consider himself a theologian, it is later fans who have attempted to make him one). However, there is a quote from The Four Loves that I am quite fond of. Lewis said “To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”* Love does not require romance to be real. There are many people that I love, some of them read this blog, others probably don’t even realize I run a writing blog. All of them have hurt me, and I have no doubt that I have hurt all of them at one point or another. So, this is your story challenge this week, and from all of the crazy stuff I come up with, I think this is probably the most difficult challenge I’ve ever given you.
Your Challenge: Write a story about real love. This should not be a story about romantic love, or cliched love, or seemingly perfect love. I want you to write a story about true, real, unremitting love. Whether it is between friend, siblings, parent and child, or love for a stranger, write me a story about loving someone.
*The Four Loves, by C.S. Lewis can be purchased here, though I have no doubt that with a little effort you can find it for a cheaper price.
One thought on “Story Challenge of the Week

Leave a Reply

