ShaolinPoseCancanChuGettyI love days off. Don’t get me wrong, some are better than others, but a day to yourself is always a wonderful thing. I generally take Tuesdays off… well, mostly (when I say off I mean that I try not to work more than 2 hours). So, what did I do on my day off? Well, I read a lot. I watched a little tv. I worked on a guide to written argumentation that I’m working on for my students. I had a bible study with some truly excellent friends. All in all, it was a very nice day. So, I hope your Tuesday was just as wonderful, and that you have a great week coming up. So, now it’s time for a scene challenge. If you don’t know the rules: I provide you with specific rules for how to write a particular scene.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your rules: This week you must write a 300+ word scene using sentences of no more than six words. Again, if you’ve been following the blog, then you’ve done this before. If you do this correctly then you should have at least 50 sentences in your scene. Your cue: “‘Zaipei breathed in the cool air. The mountains were always beautiful. He opened his eyes…”

Alright everyone, have an awesome time with this one! Feel free to put it in a real world, fantasy, or sci-fi setting. It could really fit any of the above.

Leave a Reply

