Maybe the prophecy said something about the sun exploding and killing everyone?
Maybe the prophecy said something about the sun exploding and killing everyone?

Well, it’s Wednesday yet again, and it’s almost Halloween. I have to admit that the years kind of gotten away from me and I haven’t actually done or prepared anything to celebrate my favorite holiday. Now, admittedly, I’m not much for celebrating holidays in the first place, but I do try to do a little something special every Halloween, even if it’s just wearing a real sword out in public. I’m going to have to figure out what to do this year because currently I have no ideas. Anyway, if you don’t already know the rules: I give you a prompt and you write a scene off of it.  Try to keep your scene under five hundred words, and try to keep it in the same tone as the introduction.  If I give a line that is very dark and depressing, then I don’t want to see a scene about a drunken monkey in a tutu…it just doesn’t fit.  If I do give you a line about a drunken monkey in a tutu, then you should probably try for a funny scene.

Your prompt: “The prophecy as wrong…”

There is a good way to do prophecy in fantasy fiction. Unfortunately there are also a wide variety of very. very bad ways. I’m listening to one of those right now and it’s actually making my teeth grate a little bit. So, I want you to write something about prophecy, but about a prophecy that went awry.

2 thoughts on “Scene Challenge of the Week

  1. Ok  you got me curious. What are you reading that is making your teeth grind? I would also like to hear mote about writing about a prophecy

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone

    1. I was reading James Patterson’s Witch and Wizard, which I actually used as an example in my last major post. It’s an excellent example of someone trying too hard to make their point the center of the story. Honestly, I think the arguments he was trying to make were very similar to V for Vendetta. The problem was that his setting simply defied belief. I’ll keep in mind the prophecy thing. That would probably make an excellent subject for a major post.

Leave a Reply

